As Christians and Catholics we believe that Jesus came down to earth, becoming human, and lived among us.  He walked, talked, ate and slept just like us – he was not just pure spirit, but had a physical body.  Jesus knew that people were not just minds, just spirits, but that our physical being gives shape to who we are.  This is why he instituted the sacraments, to reflect the fact we are physical and spiritual beings, seeking to walk the path of holiness.  At their simplest, as St. Augustine said, the sacraments are “a visible sign of invisible grace.”  Ultimately, “all sacraments are an encounter with Christ, who is himself the original sacrament.” (Youth Catechism of the Catholic Church [YouCat], 193)

As Catholics, there are seven sacraments: Baptism, Confirmation, Holy Eucharist, Anointing of the Sick, Reconciliation, Holy Orders, and Marriage.  The seven sacraments are entrusted to the Church, Herself a visible sign and carrier of invisible grace, in order to “sanctify, to build up the Body of Christ and, finally, to worship God. … They not only presupposed faith, but by words and objects they also nourish, strengthen, and express it.”  (Sacrosanctum Concilium, 59)

The Seven Sacraments are broken down further.

The Sacraments of InitiationSacraments of Initiation
Holy Eucharist
(if you want to receive any of these for the first time, email us at


The Sacraments of Healing4ba3650bbbab7c2074e2dc5c040144db
Anointing of the Sick



The Sacraments of Communion and Missionmarriage_cross_rings-119x124
Holy Orders